Dreamhost Might Not Be A Good Host

Edited to say: the site is back up.

Edited to say:
click here to visit tiki in the chatroom. it’ll be awesome!


As of October 6th, 2010 8:30PM EST my entire empire of websites is down.  Here’s the Error you were getting:
error id: “bad_httpd_conf”
I had no clue what that meant, so I went off to Dreamhost tech support, where I languished, until I got an email from their Abuse / Security department (wtf?):
Your account will close in 14 days per our 14 day clause in our terms of
service:http://www.dreamhost.com/tos.html

“This contract may be terminated by either party, without cause, by
giving the other party 14 days written notice. DreamHost Web Hosting will
accept termination by electronic mail. Notwithstanding the above,
DreamHost Web Hosting may terminate service under this contract at any
time, without penalty, if the Customer fails to comply with the terms of
this contract, including non-payment.”

Specifically, the clause you violated is:

“Customer agrees to not engage in activities pertaining to Black Hat SEO,
Spamdexing, and so-called “Scraper sites.” These can all have a severely
detrimental effect on server performance and are not permitted.”

You must use the 14 days allotted to move your domains and content to
another hosting provider. Please have all domains and data removed within
this time frame as your account will NOT be reinstated after it has
closed. Your domains will be disabled during this time to prevent further
damage to the server.

Terri H

What!? no! MCS is a funny pictures blog, that’s it! After a couple back and forths asking for clarification, Terri H said this:

You’ve routed nearly every single
one of your domains to the same directory. These sites contain zero
content except for a link to another site. This is black hat seo and we
do not allow it.

You have 14 days to transfer your domain and data to another hosting

Why yes, I do have a single installation of wordpress being used by most of my domains. This saves time upgrades and from a security standpoint is smart business, as I only have to keep track of a single wordpress installation, and not 30 of them.

Then, someone odd happened.  I got two emails from Terri H, both of them blank with no text in them at all.  I replied saying that I was unable to read Terri’s emails, but haven’t heard back.  That was over 14 hours ago now, and I still haven’t heard back from them yet.  If anyone from dreamhost could contact me, I would greatly appreciate it.  Until then, I’m trying to do backups of all the data that was on the server, but it’s kinda hard to do that when none of your domains are resolving any more.

Until this, this will be the temporary resting place for My Confined Space.

This entry was posted in Site News. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Dreamhost Might Not Be A Good Host

  1. nobody knows says:

    nooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. WaltherKid says:

    and I was about to up a pic of some dude receiving a piledriver via motorcycle.

  3. Colonel-yum-yum says:

    BALLS BALLS BALLS! Did they even look at the websites before saying they were violating the TOS?

  4. Dark Simian says:

    For the love of all that’s holy! Where am I going to get my motivational posters, comic panels, random pictures and NSFW pics from now on?!?

  5. Ando says:

    sour. 😦

  6. Strenner says:

    That sucks big time.

  7. Rob M says:

    Why not check into getting your own VPS? Hell, pretty much host whatever you want, and don’t have to worry about ridiculous rules and hosting companies that don’t know the business of hosting from a hole in the ground (I’ve heard WAY too many horror stories about dream host).

  8. Benon says:

    This leaves a bitter taste. I forsee plenty of “F Uuuuu” ads targeting Dreamhost.

  9. Drew says:

    Thank goodness! I thought me uploading the photo of my penis is what brought the site down … since the file was big LOL. Penis.

  10. Flickerdart says:

    I see Tiki has been engaging in espionage shenanigans while drunk again, like some kind of awesome Spy/Demoman.

  11. Marc says:

    I was having a heart attack not being able to view my favorite web site. What they say F*ing blow’s and if I where you I would ask for some form of proof from them to show that your site really has “Black Hat SEO” on it…

  12. natedog says:

    cant… breathe… must have… lolcats….

  13. Bjorn says:

    I feel with you Tiki. Good luck!
    I can recommend Gandi.net if you’re looking for a new host.

  14. Jonco says:

    I know how frustrating that is. Good luck!

  15. Lamb says:

    But this is my home away from real life…

  16. Goober says:

    Do you know how easy it is to set up your own server? A T-1 isn’t all that expensive, a few hundred a month. You can catch a Dell server on sale for less than $500, plus the cost of Window 7 _home_ edition, and all the servers software is free (XAMPP – Apache, MySQL and PHP in one package, and BIND for DNS). You’ll have to sober up long enough to figure out the config files, but it’s not rocket science.

  17. Justneil says:

    RIP My[confined]Space. Long live My[confined]Space.

    Get well soon.

  18. Ian the Mic says:

    What?…..Do I have to actually work now? I’m so confused…..and it’s cold……so very cold.

  19. Frigshift says:

    Are you going to backup demon’s posts too? Please say yes.

  20. magnus says:

    So they thought you were faking back links…from the same folder?

    That would be retard level black hat SEO.

    Plus none of your stuff ranked well anyway right?

    Dreamhost sound like foreigners. Terri is short for Terrorist.

  21. Jacqueline Hirtzel says:

    This sucks.

  22. numb7rs says:

    THE END IS NIGH! REPENT! REPENT WHILE YOU STILL CAN!

  23. patrick says:

    we r waitin’…

  24. dieAntagonista says:

    I thought NK and I broke the site by being vulgar on the forum, because right after our quick exchange it went down. Phew.

  25. jonny says:

    boo-urns!

  26. kikigoddess2 says:

    My tears will fry their electrons.

  27. callendar10-4 says:

    I am saddened 😦 I love your site Tikki!! I can’t wait till its up again 🙂

  28. Puulaahi says:

    This calls for Courage Wolf. All your tubes are belong to us.

    THIS SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!! 😦

  29. dysan819 says:

    Goodbye cruel world

  30. tiki god says:

    alright you space apes, the site is back up, I’m going to close off these here comments.

Comments are closed.